Big Buoy Water Park

Public Holidays

Public holidays are the things of dreams. You can wake up, have a lazy morning lie-in, safe in the knowledge that you don’t have to rush to work or deal with your annoying boss today. You can spend the day however you like, completely at your leisure. The world is your oyster, and the bliss lasts an entire 24 hours. Unfortunately, normality returns all too soon. Is 27th April 2020 a public holiday? Yes. Monday the 27th of April is a public holiday in Australia. This is in addition to ANZAC day, which falls on a Saturday in 2020. The public holiday on the 27th was created so that the majority of people would benefit from having an extra day off during the normal working week, in celebration of the annual ANZAC commemoration, which happens to fall on a weekend. Is Monday a public holiday in SA? Yes, Monday is a public holiday in SA How many public holidays in Victoria in 2019? There were a total of 14 public holidays in Victoria in 2019. This includes many public holidays which are common to countries all over the world, such as Christmas Day and New Year’s Day, but also holidays which are exclusive to states in Australia. For example, this includes the Australia day and the date of the Melbourne cup in November. Also, as in many other Commonwealth countries, the Queen’s Birthday in June is celebrated as a public holiday, as she is technically the head of state. What is consider holidays in 2020? In Australia there various different rules for declaring holidays. These can vary from state to state, however, there are some holidays which are common to all Australian states. The common holidays include Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Australian Day, ANZAC Day, Boxing Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday. All the other public holidays are declared individually by the governing bodies of the various different states. These local public holidays can include such days as Canberra Day and the Melbourne Cup Day. However, many of the individual states do announce common holidays, such as labour day (a day celebrated worldwide) and the Queen’s birthday (a holiday shared with most other commonwealth nations). What dates are school holidays in 2020? The school term and holiday dates for Australian schools are declared on a state by state basis so that local rules are in effect. However, many territories follow a similar timetable. Most schools will have a holiday in April, approximately from April 9th to April 20th. There is then a longer set of school holidays between term 2 and term 3. These holidays begin at the end of June and continue through to the end of July. In many Australian states in 2020, the holidays go from June 26th to July 21st. Once the schools return for term 3, the Christmas holidays will run from the 18th of December until the schools reopen in 2021. School holiday dates in 2020 are subject to disruption due to the Coronavirus pandemic.